El Parado de Valldemossa

It is an ancient courtisan dance called “Branda”. In king Peter IV court, around 1350, they alteady danced it and it became fashionable during the 6th and 7th centuries.

It is currently popular the village of Valldemossa since long time ago. The popular knowledge says that when writer Santiago Rusiñol asked for the name of the dance, he was replied that it was called ” el parado de valldemossa”.

Dancers spin and move arms and legs in a smooth and windy move. 

Tonight the dance crew of the Valldemossa’s School of Music performs “el parado” at the Costa Nord centre.


Ses al·lotes no em volen
perquè som pillo.
Perquè som pillo
i perquè ses al·lotes
no em volen,
perquè som pillo
perquè les rob
ses gulles des rebosillo.

Porque me paro de llamar
me llaman el parado,
porque me paro
me llaman el parado
porque me paro

Leave a comment